Europa: Solo Show VinZ

12 May - 12 June 2022
Overview

We don't realize what we have until we lose it. Or until someone try to steal it from us. It always happens when we are healthy, when we are in love or when we are completely free. Something similar happens with Europe. When you leave here you realize what we have. What we have built. What is worth fighting for. - VinZ

Broadly speaking, VinZ shows naked people in his works as they were created by nature and presents them in their uniform as they exist in society. However, on closer inspection, there are deep political themes behind the mixed creatures of human and animal, which the Valencian artist skillfully realises.

 

The full understanding happens in relation to the time in which VinZ creates his works and through the understanding of the constricting mechanisms up to open repression by means of violence in our society. By painting animal heads on them, VinZ anonymizes the characters, but at the same time gives them a new identity. The roots of VinZ's ideas can be found in the current political, social and global environment. The naked bodies question their own and our understanding of freedom and life.

 

Freedom is now also the subject of Vinz's current exhibition Europa. What does freedom actually mean? How is one's own but also collective freedom perceived? With reference to these questions, VinZ has developed an exhibition concept that focuses on self-positioning. Europa looks at the world through glasses that are coloured differently depending on the point of view. We don't know what we have until we lose it. Or until someone tries to steal it from us. These moments of loss always happen when we are healthy, when we are in love or when we are completely free. Something similar happens with Europe. When you leave here, you realise what we have. What we have built and what is worth fighting for.

 

In 2011, VinZ (*1979, Valencia, ESP) started the project "Feel Free", which was implemented on the streets as well as in galleries all over Europe and the US. He graduated in Fine Arts from the Faculty of San Carlos at the Polytechnic University of Valencia in 2003. His working process consists of several steps. After sketching an idea, he photographs nude models, isolated or staged in small groups, then paints animal heads on large-scale prints of human figures. In this way, the artist creates hybrid subjects with a system of symbols associated with different kinds of animals: Birds stand for freedom and fish for consumption, while frogs and lizards convey authority; the minotaur stands for resistance, rabbits for curiosity and sensuality and his last figure, the tiger, for boldness.

 

Vernissage:
Thursday, 12th of May 2022
6 - 9 pm

Opening Hours:
unitl the 12th of June 2022
Fr: 4 - 8 pm
Sa: 2 - 6 pm
or by appointment

Address:
Galerie SOON
Sihlquai 125 (2. Stock)
8005 Zürich

Europa: Einzelausstellung VinZ

12 Mai - 12 Juni 2022
Übersicht

We don't realize what we have until we lose it. Or until someone try to steal it from us. It always happens when we are healthy, when we are in love or when we are completely free.  Something similar happens with Europe. When you leave here you realize what we have. What we have built. What is worth fighting for. - VinZ

VinZ zeigt in seinen Werken nackte Menschen, wie sie von der Natur geschaffen wurden und uniformiert sie so, wie sie in der Gesellschaft bestehen. Genauer betrachtet stecken hinter den Mischwesen von Mensch und Tier allerdings tiefpolitische Themen, die der valencianische Künstler gekonnt umsetzt. 

 

Das vollständige Verstehen geschieht in Bezug auf die Zeit, in welcher VinZ seine Werke schafft und durch das Verstehen der einengenden Mechanismen bis hin zu offener Repression mittels Gewalt in unserer Gesellschaft. Durch das Aufmalen von Tierköpfen anonymisiert VinZ die Charaktere, gibt Ihnen aber gleichzeitig eine neue Identität. Die Wurzeln von VinZ's Ideen finden sich in der aktuellen politischen, sozialen und globalen Umwelt. Die nackten Körper hinterfragen ihr eigenes und unser Verständnis von Freiheit und Leben. 

 

Um Freiheit geht es nun auch in Vinz’s aktueller Ausstellung Europa. Was bedeutet Freiheit eigentlich? Wie wird die eigene aber auch die kollektive Freiheit wahrgenommen? In Bezug auf diese Fragen entwickelt VinZ ein Ausstellungskonzept, das die Selbstpositionierung ins Zentrum stellt. Europa betrachtet die Welt durch eine Brille, die je nach Standpunkt anders gefärbt ist. Wir wissen nicht, was wir haben, bis wir es verlieren. Oder bis jemand versucht, es uns zu stehlen. Diese Momente des Verlustes passieren immer dann, wenn wir gesund sind, wenn wir verliebt sind oder wenn wir völlig frei sind. Etwas Ähnliches passiert mit Europa. Wenn man hier weggeht, wird einem bewusst, was wir haben. Was wir aufgebaut haben und wofür es sich zu kämpfen lohnt. 

 

Im Jahr 2011 startete VinZ (1979, Valencia, ESP) das Projekt Feel Free, das auf den Strassen sowie in Galerien in ganz Europa und den USA umgesetzt wurde. Er diplomierte 2003 in Fine Arts an der Fakultät von San Carlos an der polytechnischen Universität Valencia. Sein Arbeitsprozess besteht aus mehreren Schritten. Nachdem er eine Idee skizziert hat, fotografiert er nackte, isolierte oder in kleinen Gruppen inszenierte Modelle, dann malt er Tierköpfe auf großformatige Drucke menschlicher Figuren. So schafft der Künstler hybride Subjekte mit einem System von Symbolen, die mit verschiedenen Tierarten verbunden sind: Vögel stehen für Freiheit und Fische für Konsum, während Frösche und Eidechsen Autorität vermitteln; der Minotaurus steht für Widerstand, Kaninchen für Neugier und Sinnlichkeit und seine letzte Figur, der Tiger, für Kühnheit. 

 

Vernissagen:
Donnerstag, 12. Mai 2022
18 - 21 Uhr

Öffnungszeiten:
Danach bis am 12. Juni 2022
Fr: 16 - 20 Uhr
Sa: 14 - 18 Uhr
oder nach Vereinbarung

Adresse:
Galerie SOON
Sihlquai 125 (2. Stock)
8005 Zürich